Graduate School of Science and Technology/GSST Faculty of Natural Sciences and Faculty of Technical Sciences Aarhus University

Minutes from the PhD committee meeting

Time: Tuesday, 23 June 2020 at 13.00-14.00 Place: Online via zoom

Present:	Ernst-Martin Füchtbauer, Kurt Thomas Jensen, Anders Møller, Yannik Elo Roell, Frederik Thorning Frederiksen, Michelle Møhlenberg, Lis Wollesen de Jonge, Henrik Stapelfeldt and Jes Madsen
Apologies for absence:	Marianne Hammershøj and Sundas Rani
The secretariat:	Liselotte K. Heller, Damian Goldberg and Rikke J. Ljungmann

Agenda:

- 1. Approval of minutes from the PhD committee opening meeting and ordinary meeting 22 January 2020 (appendix 1)
- 2. Approval of agenda
- 3. Announcements Overview of assessment committees, exemptions, etc. for the period 15 January 2020 to 15 June 2020 (appendices 2, 3 and 4)
- 4. Follow-up on corona-related issues
- 5. New PhD committees of GSTS and GSNS (appendix 5)
- 6. Misc.

Minutes:

Re 1. Approval of minutes from the PhD committee opening meeting and ordinary meeting – 22 January 2020

Approved.

Items on courses will be discussed at the next meeting in August.

Re 2. Approval of agenda

Approved.

Re 3. Announcements – Overview of assessment committees, exemptions, etc. for the period 15 January 2020 to 15 June 2020 Approved

Re 4. Follow-up on corona-related issues

Corona-related issues were discussed. Foremost on people's minds were extensions, PhD defences/qualifying exams and some of the study-related elements of the PhD education, e.g. in connection with going abroad.

Information from the PhD school is okay, and the PhD students are getting the information needed. Sometimes it has been difficult with all the quick changes along the way, but those were due to the situation, not the PhD school. It is therefore good to have regular updates.

Re 5. New PhD committees of GSTS and GSNS

Due to the faculty and GSST split, two new PhD committees must be set up to mirror the two new schools GSNS and GSTS. This will take place with the next election and come into force from 1 February 2021.

Currently, the PhD committee consists of six permanent staff and six PhD students. To make the committees more effective, it was suggested from the Dean's offices that the coming committees should be represented by three permanent staff and three PhD students.

The suggestion was debated, and it was decided to try for a slightly larger representation with four permanent staff and four PhD students.

Action: Jes Madsen will discuss the amended suggestion with the Deans. To be discussed afterwards either at the August meeting or via e-mail.

Re 6. Misc.

Rikke J. Ljungmann mentioned that the sentence describing the composition of the PhD committee had been changed in the two new GSNS and GSTS versions of the Rules and Regulations to accommodate the present situation. The sentence reads: 'The PhD committee will be in a transitional period until 31 January 2021 covering both GSNS and GSTS. During the transitional period the PhD committee consists of six members elected among the permanent academic staff, and six members elected among the PhD students'. When the two new PhD committees have been set up in January 2021, the sentence will be changed in the GSNS and GSTS Rules and Regulations to accommodate the new situation.

Jes Madsen mentioned that the new Head of PhD School for GSTS will likely take office on 1 August 2020 or 1 September 2020. GSNS will have an interim period from 1 September 2020 to most likely 1 November 2020 when the new Head of PhD school for GSNS is in place.

Next meeting to be held in August.

The meeting ended at 13.45.

Action

Discuss the amended suggestion for PhD committees with the Deans. To be discussed at the August PhD committee meeting or via e-mail. **Who** Jes Madsen When Before the August meeting

Next meeting:

Items on courses will be discussed.