Aarhus University Seal

Cross Institutional Molecular Biophysics

ECTS credits: 10

Course parameters:
Language: English
Level of course: PhD course
Time of year: Spring 2021
No. of contact hours/hours in total incl. preparation, assignment(s) or the like: 75/250
Capacity limits: None

Objectives of the course:
The Cross Institutional Molecular Biophysics course is interdisciplinary and cross-institutional and will be given by a series of lecturers who are experts within each their subfield of biophysics. The coherence of the course is assured by emphasizing the molecular basis of modern biophysics. The course will take place at different institutions in order to expose the students to different research groups, their researchers and experimental research facilities. The course will thus give the student a unique opportunity of orienting him or herself within an active and diverse field of interdisciplinary science.

The course is relevant for biophysically oriented PhD students within physics, chemistry, biochemistry, molecular biology, nano-bioscience, pharmaceutical sciences, agricultural science or biology. The emphasis of the course is a molecular description of biophysical systems and phenomena and it covers experimental methods, theoretical concepts, as well as molecular modeling. 

Learning outcomes and competences:
Proteins, lipids, membranes, DNA, enzymes, receptors, transport, permeability, photoactivity, electrostatics, scattering theory, thermodynamics, forces in biological systems, light-, neutron- and X-ray scattering, magnetic resonance, protein folding, calorimetry, (confocal) uorescence microscopy and spectroscopy, molecular modeling and simulation, mechanical spectroscopy, optical tweezers, micromechanics, atomic-force microscopy, single-molecule techniques, ellipsometry/neutron reflectometry, and electrophysiology.

Compulsory programme:
Credit for the course requires the student's presence at a minimum of 7 out of the 9 lectures. The student presentations on 19 April and evaluation and student talks on 24 May are mandatory. 

Course contents:
The course starts 1 March 2020 and runs every Mondays for 11 weeks at different institutes and by different lecturers. Each day of the course covers around six hours. In general, the morning session will consist of a set of lectures and the afternoon session will predominantly involve either the student's active participation in experiments, specic numerical exercises, or inspection of the local experimental facilities.


Name of lecturer[s]:
Dorthe Posselt (RUC), Peter Westh (DTU), Himanshu Khandelia (SDU), Adam C. Simonsen (SDU), Beate Klösgen (SDU), Anna Mularski (SDU), Jonathan Brewer (SDU), Anders Utoft (SDU), Thomas Heimburg (KU), Poul Martin Bendix (KU), Namiko Mitarai (KU), Kresten Lindorff-Larsen (KU), Nikos Hatzakis (KU), Vito Fodera (KU), Frederik Grønbæk Tidemand (KU), Nicolai Tidemand Johansen (KU), Chen Shen (DESY), Magnus Kjærgaard (AU), Frans Mulder (AU), Thomas Vosegaard (AU) and Daniel Otzen (AU).

Type of course/teaching methods:
Lectures/seminars, exercises, and tour of facilities

Will be announced every week during the course.

Course homepage:

Course assessment:
On 19 April all participants will give a ten minutes presentations (just a few slides) introducing their respective PhD project to each other. The presentations have to be focusing on the challenges within the project, conceptual as well methodological, and not on the results obtained. Further, the presentations should include what the participants expect to gain from the course in relation to their project and challenges within the project. The presentations are followed by discussion, input and ideas from the other participants.

For the evaluation the participants will be divided into groups for the final presentations where the students give a presentation on a hypothetical project that combines the competences that each student has. The seminars serve to provide an overview as well as an evaluation of the course.

In order to get credits for the course, every student must be present at all the other students' talks.

iNANO, Aarhus University in collaboration with other Danish Universities.

Spring 2021

Danish Universities

Deadline for registration is 1 March 2021. 

For registration: https://events.au.dk/CIMB 

If you have any questions, please contact PhD administrator Maria Kragelund, e-mail: maria@inano.au.dk

19812 / i43